UCSB Jazz Combos

Tuesday, December 5, 2017
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM


Free Event

FREE EVENT: The UCSB Jazz Ensemble will present its annual Fall Quarter combo concerts on Tuesday, December 5, 2017 at 4 p.m. (free) and 7:30 p.m. (ticketed) in Karl Geiringer Hall. The concerts will include special performances by two slightly larger ensembles in addition to five outstanding student combos. The programs will both feature the music of pianist Horace Silver, a prolific composer whose output includes such jazz classics as “Nica’s Dream,” “The Jody Grind,” “Nutville,” and the haunting “Lonely Woman.” The afternoon concert will feature two student combos plus a 10-piece “little big band” performing arrangements by Los Angeles trombonist Randy Aldcroft, including “Silver’s Serenade,” “Pyramid,” and “In Walked Horace.” The evening concert will feature three combos along with a special performance by a saxophone quintet with rhythm section performing “Supersax” arrangements of Charlie Parker’s music and solos as arranged by Los Angeles jazz legend Med Flory. Also featured vocally on both concerts are veterans Isabel Petty and Ciara Giordano, with newcomers Kelly He and Ariana Meyers. The UCSB Jazz Combos are directed and coached by Jon Nathan, along with Matt Perko (UCSB Staff, Office of Public Affairs) and Brandon Rolle (graduate student in Music Composition). Please join us for an afternoon and evening of classic jazz!

Additional Resources
More Links: http://music.ucsb.edu/news/event/1403